Ideas?

Back at it and I’m starting to remember how difficult it is to juggle my dissertation and studio work. What makes it worse is my thoughts that I may be going in circles with my work.

dsc_0566

Throughout university, I have almost avoided creating physical structures – photography and drawing have always held a form of comfort to me and I only now in my final year am beginning to realise how much I have missed out by not going down this route earlier to expand my skills.

dsc_0576

I have the idea to showcase how much energy that a single wind turbine can hardness and want it to be eye-opening and a bit different to my current practice of photographs. The plan so far is to attempt to build house structures with paper (this is to get an idea of how this idea will look, it’d be ideal to look into the workshops to create these houses out of a more sustainable material next)

dsc_0556

“The output of a wind turbine depends on the turbine’s size and the wind’s speed through the rotor. An average onshore wind turbine with a capacity of 2.5–3 MW can produce more than 6 million kWh in a year – enough to supply 1,500 average EU households with electricity.”

(http://www.ewea.org/wind-energy-basics/faq/)

dsc_0526

The idea of creating 1500 miniature paper houses to take up the floorspace so that people have to step around is what I have pictured. Will the houses be lined up or sporadic? In a pattern? Being in the shape of a wind turbine would be too tacky? How about the symbol for wind?

houses-of-the-rising-sun-2005-jpg-nggid03181-ngg0dyn-640x480x100-00f0w011c010r110f110r010t010

Anila Rubiku’s ‘Houses of the Rising Sun’ is a beautiful example of how simplicity can captivate and take over a space.

Leave a Reply

